The benefits of light in a cosmetic product

Fatigue, bouts of the blues and periods of stress characterize the winter months. And whatever affects our state of mind can have an impact on the condition of our skin: it becomes dull and dehydrated; wrinkles grow deeper. The lack of light during this period tends to throw off our internal biological clock. Light is a true paradox: while on the one hand, it is essential to the proper operation of our body, its ultraviolet rays can also be damaging. How can cosmetics harness the benefits of light? What are the secrets of the laboratories?

The healing properties of light have been venerated for thousands of years, with sunlight being one of the oldest therapeutic measures used by humankind in the treatment of disease. As we have grown more urbanized, we have slowly moved from an agricultural lifestyle to one where we spend more time in closed environments devoid of sunlight.  We have also come to recognize problems related to prolonged exposure to the rays of the sun, developing more powerful sunscreens to keep harmful sunrays from reaching and damaging our skin.

While the use of light has a long history, its application in the cosmetic industry has recently accelerated. Light is used in the fields of health and beauty for beautification and treatment purposes, thanks to the development of equipment emitting different types of light:

  • a sunrise simulator for a gentle awakening
  • a unit disseminating natural light or blue light to stimulate our energy and make the most of summer year-round
  • an infrared light to alleviate muscle pain
  • photobiostimulation for a skin rejuvenating effect.

Light can be used in whole or in part, depending on the desired effect. Every colour in the light spectrum corresponds to a specific wavelength, which in turn has a specific use:

  • Blue light reduces flaws and improves the microprofile
  • Green treats skin spots by regulating their activity
  • Yellow has an impact on cell renewal, acting on the source of wrinkles
  • Red acts on the production of collagen and elastin, improving skin density.

Given recent publications on visible light, these units can now be found in the offices of dermatologists, as well as in the homes of consumers who can tap into the beneficial effects of light energy.

 

For the rest of the article, please refer to our online magazine!

Ask our experts


five × = 15

© 2013 BeautéHD. All rights reserved.

Les bienfaits de la lumière dans un produit cosmétique

Fatigue, période de coup de blues et de stress, manque de tonus caractérisent les mois d’hiver. Et tout ce qui affecte notre moral peut influencer l’état de notre peau ; elle se déshydrate, devient terne, les rides se creusent. Le manque de clarté et de lumière pendant cette période conduit en fait à la désynchronisation de notre horloge interne. La lumière est un véritable paradoxe : elle est à la fois indispensable au bon fonctionnement de notre organisme mais peut lui causer des dommages notamment les rayons ultraviolets. Comment utiliser les bienfaits de la lumière en cosmétique ? Quels sont les secrets des laboratoires ?

Les propriétés curatives de la lumière ont été vénérées depuis des milliers d’années, le traitement des maladies par la lumière du soleil étant l’une des plus anciennes mesures thérapeutiques utilisées par les hommes. Devenant plus urbanisés, nous avons lentement migré d’un mode de vie agricole à un mode de vie dans lequel nous fréquentons le plus souvent des locaux fermés sans lumière du soleil. Nous nous sommes également rendu compte des problèmes associés à une exposition prolongée aux rayons du soleil en mettant au point des écrans solaires plus puissants qui empêchent les rayons solaires nuisibles d’atteindre et d’endommager notre peau.

Bien que la lumière ait une longue histoire d’utilisation, son application dans l’industrie cosmétique a récemment accélérée. La lumière est exploitée dans les domaines de la beauté et de la santé dans le but d’embellissement et de soins grâce à la création d’appareils qui émettent différents types de lumière :

  • simulateur de lever du soleil pour un réveil en douceur,
  • appareil diffusant la lumière naturelle ou de la lumière bleue pour stimuler notre énergie et profiter de l’été toute l’année,
  • lampe à infrarouge pour soulager les douleurs musculaires,
  • photobiostimulation pour un effet rajeunissant cutané…

La lumière peut être utilisée en partie ou entièrement en fonction du but recherché. Chaque couleur du spectre de la lumière correspond à une longueur d’onde spécifique qui répond à une utilisation particulière :

  • La bleue réduit les imperfections et améliore le micro relief,
  • La verte traite les tâches en régulant leur activité,
  • La couleur jaune agit sur le renouvellement cellulaire, donc à la source des rides.
  • Le rouge agit sur la production de collagène et d’élastine, améliorant ainsi la densité de la peau.

Pour lire le reste de l’article, SVP cliquez sur notre magazine en ligne!

Posez une question à nos experts


trois × = 6

© 2013 BeautéHD. Tous droits réservés.