Permanent make-up

FASCINATING PERMANENT MAKEUP

The world of permanent makeup is a mysterious one, at least for an outsider! It triggers all kinds of questions, alternating between curiosity and concern. The term permanent alone gives me chills. Permanent as in irreversible???  Not a decision to be lightly made! Surrounded by my doubts, my fears, and let’s be honest my prejudice, I embarked on a discovery mission, and a fascinating one at that, the one of permanent makeup!

TATTOO OR NOT

Permanent makeup (or micro-pigmentation) is a cosmetic procedure which introduces a pigment into the dermis with an electrical device called a dermograph. This technique employs tattoos (permanent pigmentation of the dermis) to create makeup-like designs such as eyelining and other permanent enhancing colors to the skin of the face, lips and eyelids.  It is also used to produce artificial eyebrows, particularly in people who have lost them as a consequence of aging, disease such as alopecia, chemotherapy, or a genetic disturbance, and to disguise scars and white spots in the skin such as in vitiligo. In comparison to traditional artistic tattooing, micro-pigmentation requires advanced medical knowledge and acute precision, but the principle is the same. The inks used in permanent makeup and the pigments in these inks are subject to the Law on Food and Drugs as well as the Cosmetic Regulations of Health Canada. I’m impressed!

PERMANENT OR SEMI-PERMANENT

In order to have a better picture of the subject, I chose to consult with an expert in micro-pigmentation: Mireille Migneault. Mireille has been a licensed aesthetician since 1981 and cumulates over 26 years of experience in corrective and aesthetic micro-pigmentation. From the outset, she tells me that there are two types of pigments: semi-permanent pigments have a 3 to 5 years lifespan whereas the permanent pigments have an 8 to 10 years lifespan. So, in this particular case, permanent does mean forever and ever! (Sigh of relief) That’s comforting!

Semi-permanent makeup

Mrs. Migneault tells me that semi-permanent makeup is used to enhance and support the facial structure, correct small facial flaws and enhance the natural beauty of the face.

Flawless eyebrows

There are two techniques used to reshape or enhance sparse, too thin or absent eyebrows. “Filling” provides a uniform result, similar to pencil filling. “Hair to hair”, as its name would suggest, reproduces the hair, one by one, of the eyebrows. Eyebrows completed using this technique offer an incredibly realistic effect. Regardless of the technique used, once redesigned and balanced the redefined eyebrows provide a remarkable lifting effect of the eyelids. Very interesting!!!

A smile is a door to the heart!

Who hasn’t dreamed of full, well defined and alluring lips? Weather facing asymmetrical or thin lips, or wanting to camouflage surrounding fine lines and wrinkles or simply enhancing the natural color and definition of the lips, Mrs. Migneault always takes into consideration the entire lip surface, combining an artistic and natural combination of light and shadow to the entire lip surface rather than performing a mere lip contour as we all picture it. As for the color choice, she recommends choosing a color identical or lightly darker than the natural color of the lips for an optimal, natural looking effect. Even the thinnest lips can look full with a well thought and well designed micro-pigmentation. Fuller, colourful and well defined lips will instantly take years off anyone’s smile!

Glamorous glare

They say the eyes are the window of the soul. A skilfully made semi-permanent eyeliner instantly gives back the youthful glow to the eyes and can give the illusion of fuller lashes! The line can be more or less thick, depending on the sought after effect. However, it requires a well-trained technician with exceptional skill because of the proximity of the eye and the degree of accuracy required.

Beauty marks are the stars of our face!

Just like the features of our face, beauty marks show different aspects of our personality depending on their location. Beauty marks and freckles can also be achieved by micro-pigmentation to accentuate or bring forward certain personality traits.

Permanent makeup

Since permanent makeup offers longer lasting results, most technicians will recommend to wait for the completion of major morphological changes associated with menopause before undergoing a permanent makeup. Once these changes are complete, it will be possible to restore order and symmetry while creating lines, thus providing a natural looking lift to the face.

Weather semi-permanent  or permanent, micro-pigmentation should be done by a qualified makeup stylist for his/her expertise in facial enhancement, with advanced knowledge of color concepts to avoid any unpleasant surprises such as orange, pink or green eyebrows or lip contours turning gray.

Paramedical corrective micro-pigmentation

Paramedical corrective micro-pigmentation is also a tattoo. It is used to restore proper color to the skin and scar tissue. This technique provides a very interesting avenue for post crano-facial and other reconstructive surgery patients, for burned victims, patients with congenital labial malformations, etc … Women who underwent unilateral or bilateral mastectomy and reconstruction of one or both breasts may also use micro-pigmentation to give the illusion of the presence of the areola and nipple. Different shading techniques contribute to an almost perfect illusion. Paramedical corrective micro-pigmentation can be done 6 to 9 months after the wound has healed completely, depending on the cause of scar. However, these interventions require a huge amount of experience and a lot of practice. In these particular cases, permanent make-up allows patients to regain their self-confidence and open up to others. Wow! Beauty at the service of people!

WHO IS IT FOR? 

According to Mrs Migneault, semi or permanent makeup targets active women (and even men!) who are searching for ways to stay looking fresh like a rose day in day out. It is a perfect alternative to traditional makeup for all who want to combine beauty and comfort 24/7 and save precious minutes in their morning routine! Semi or permanent makeup can also provide a valuable makeup base for those who do not wear a lot of make up or are less skilled. Furthermore, it provides an excellent substitution to traditional cosmetics for those who suffer from allergic reaction to makeup products or wish to correct a previous micro-pigmentation. And because semi-permanent micro-pigmentation has a shorter lifespan the result can be adjusted every 3 to 5 years to address the changes that occurred on our face! A younger looking me, here I come!

HOW TO CHOOSE???

It goes without saying that choosing the right technician is crucial when considering undergoing a micro-pigmentation procedure. Although results are not definitive, they are nevertheless medium to long term. Generally speaking, the more natural the look, the more talented, precise and color savvy the technician must be. The consultation with the technician is an essential part of the process and allows you to ask all your questions to the technician before going through with your micro-pigmentation. During the consultation, the technician should be able to put down on paper a quality and precise drawing the micro-pigmentation you are asking for – right before your eyes! If she has a hard time drawing an eye, lips or eyebrows on a perfectly still piece of paper, let’s just say you are probably better off looking for another technician elsewhere! Be vigilant and demanding. Look for certifications in morphology, in aesthetics and a perfect understanding of colors. The technician should be at the fore front of micro-pigmentation related techniques and technologies. Many technicians are makeup artists or artistic painters. Ask for referrals, to see before, immediately after, 6 weeks after, 6 months after, 2 years after pictures. Finally, account for the experience, the talent and the constancy of the results rather than the asking price. After all, it’s your face!

That’s it! I’m calling Mrs Migneault and booking my micro-pigmentation appointment!

To read the rest of this article, please read our online magazine!

N.B. Mrs Migneault is a renowned aesthetician, portraitist and painter. She is the owner of the Coup D’Éclat salon in Quebec city. Her passion: your beauty!

Ask our experts


eight + = 14

© 2013 BeautéHD. All rights reserved.

Maquillage permanent

FASCINANT MAQUILLAGE PERMANENT!

Quel monde mystérieux que celui du maquillage permanent! Que de questions suscite-t-il en nous… mitigées, intéressées, certes, mais balançant entre curiosité et inquiétude. Le terme permanent fait frémir à lui seul! Permanent? Irréversible? Toute une décision!

Entourée de mes craintes et de mes tonnes de questionnements, et… disons-le franchement, de mes préjugés,  je suis partie à la découverte de cet inconnu mythique qu’est le maquillage permanent.

TATOO OU PAS ?

Inspirée du tatouage, la micro-pigmentation (autre terme pour désigner le maquillage permanent, plus doux et contemporain d’ailleurs) est une technique qui consiste à introduire un pigment dans le derme à l’aide d’un appareil électrique appelé le dermographe. Cette technique  permet de modifier la couleur d’une zone de peau dans un but cosméto-médical ou purement esthétique. Par rapport au tatouage artistique, cette technique nécessite beaucoup plus de connaissances médicales mais le principe est le même. Les pigments, bien tolérés par l’organisme, se présentent sous forme d’une solution stable de poudres colorées. Les colorants utilisés peuvent être d’origine minérale ou organique. Ils doivent être stériles et satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi sur les aliments et drogues et au Règlement sur les cosmétiques de Santé Canada. Déjà, ça me rassure!

PERMANENT  OU SEMI-PERMANENT?

Question d’avoir l’heure juste sur le sujet, j’ai choisi de faire appel aux connaissances d’une experte en micro-pigmentation : Mireille Migneault. Mireille, esthéticienne depuis 1981, a une expérience de plus de 26 ans en micro-pigmentation esthétique et correctrice. D’entrée de jeu elle m’explique qu’il existe deux types de pigments : les semi-permanents qui ont une durée de vie de 3 à 5 ans et les dits permanents qui ont une durée de vie de 8 à 10 ans voire parfois même plus. Donc qui dit permanent ne dit pas « à vie! »

Le maquillage semi-permanent :

Madame Mignault m’explique que le maquillage semi-permanent permet d’améliorer et de soutenir la structure faciale, de corriger les petits défauts et de mettre en valeur les atouts naturels du visage.

Des sourcils impeccables

Les sourcils sont le cadre des yeux. Il existe deux techniques de maquillage pour redessiner ou intensifier des sourcils clairsemés, trop clairs ou absents. Le “remplissage“ offre un résultat uniforme, semblable au trait de crayon. Le “poil à poil“, plus naturel, reproduit le tracé des poils. Les sourcils complétés de cette façon offrent un rendu incroyablement réaliste.

Avec l’une ou l’autre des techniques, une fois redessinés et équilibrés, les sourcils offrent un effet de lifting des paupières à coup sûr!

Une bouche bien dessinée

Le summum de la féminité! Pour corriger une asymétrie, épaissir des lèvres trop fines, jouer le trompe l’oeil pour diminuer l’apparence de ridules ou encore simplement pour rehausser la couleur naturelle des lèvres, on choisira une teinte identique ou légèrement plus foncée que celle de nos lèvres. Il faut impérativement conserver un aspect naturel pour que l’effet soit joli et de bon goût. Pour Mireille, le dessin d’une bouche est un agencement artistique et naturel d’ombre et de lumière et non un simple contour des lèvres comme nous en avons toutes une image. Si les lèvres sont sans volume, un maquillage permanent bien pensé donnera l’illusion d’une bouche plus pulpeuse. Il  sera toujours possible  de penser à les repulper grâce à des injections d’acide hyaluronique. Le regain de volume allié au tracé net et recoloré vont rajeunir la bouche de manière épatante!

Un regard plus intense

La pose d’eyeliner redonne l’éclat de jeunesse au regard. Il demande une technicienne bien formée et avec une habileté hors du commun à cause de la proximité de l’œil et du degré de précision demandé. La ligne peut être plus ou moins épaisse pour un regard intensifié et un effet de cils fournis. Plusieurs options s’offrent à nous.

Des grains de beauté et des éphélides peuvent également être placés sur le visage.

Le maquillage permanent :

Comme le maquillage dit permanent donne des résultats à plus long terme, la plupart des techniciennes recommanderont d’attendre la fin des grands changements morphologiques associés à la ménopause avant d’effectuer un maquillage permanent. Une fois ces changements terminés, il sera possible de rétablir l’ordre et la symétrie tout en créant des lignes, apportant ainsi un lift naturel au visage.

Si la micro-pigmentation est faite par un maquilleur visagiste pour son expertise du visage, que les notions de colorimétrie sont parfaitement maîtrisées pour éviter les surprises de sourcils oranges roses, verts, ou encore de contours de lèvres qui tournent au gris et  que l’outillage utilisé est adéquat, le maquillage répondra aux besoins,  aux attentes et aux goûts de la cliente, allant de correctif à naturel ou encore maquillé.

La micro-pigmentation corrective paramédicale :

La micro-pigmentation corrective paramédicale est aussi un tatouage. Elle redonne à la peau et aux tissus cicatriciels du visage une couleur adéquate. Cette technique offre une avenue  très intéressante pour les patients en post chirurgie crâno-faciale, pour les grands brûlés, les accidentés, les malformations labiales, etc. Les femmes ayant subi une mastectomie unilatérale ou bilatérale et ayant recours à la reconstruction du ou des sein(s) peuvent également avoir recours à la micro-pigmentation afin de donner l’illusion de la présence d’une aréole et d’un mamelon. Avec les différentes  techniques de dégradés de couleur, l’illusion est presque parfaite. La micro-pigmentation corrective paramédicale peut être faite 6 à 9 mois après la cicatrisation, selon la cause de la cicatrice. Ces interventions demandent cependant une grande expérience et beaucoup de pratique. Dans ces cas particuliers, le maquillage permanent permet entre autre aux patients de reprendre confiance en eux et de s’ouvrir aux autres.

POUR QUI?

Selon Madame Migneault, le maquillage semi-permanent et permanent est parfait pour les femmes (et même les hommes!) pressées, actives, sportives, coquettes, en affaire et toutes celles qui désirent avoir l’air fraîche à tout heure du jour. Parfait aussi pour celles qui souhaitent allier beauté et confort 24h/24 et sauver de précieuses minutes le matin dans leur routine beauté. Le maquillage semi-permanent offre également une précieuse base de maquillage pour celles qui se maquillent un peu, beaucoup ou pas du tout ou  encore qui éprouvent des difficultés à se maquiller. Il constitue une excellente alternative pour celles qui présentent une intolérance aux produits de maquillage ou qui souhaitent corriger une micro-pigmentation malheureuse. Et grâce à sa durée de vie plus courte, il sera possible de refaire le maquillage semi-permanent après 3 à 5 ans et de l’ajuster en fonction des changements qu’aura subi notre joli minois. Coup de fraîcheur et de jeunesse assuré! Mon cœur commence à s’emballer!!!

COMMENT CHOISIR?

 

À la lumière de toutes ces informations, il va sans dire que choisir la bonne technicienne est capital quand on envisage d’avoir recours au maquillage permanent ou semi-permanent. Bien que les résultats ne soient pas définitifs, il sont tout de même de moyenne à longue durée. Sachez que plus on tend vers le naturel, plus la technicienne que l’on choisit doit non seulement être aguerrie au niveau de la technique mais surtout au niveau des couleurs. La consultation pré micro-pigmentation est essentielle pour vous permettre d’évaluer les compétences de la technicienne et de poser toutes vos questions. Lors de cette consultation, la technicienne devrait être en mesure de faire sur papier et devant vous  le dessin de la zone à traiter. Si elle a du mal à dessiner un œil ou une bouche ou encore  des sourcils  à main levée sur une feuille de papier plate et immobile, peut-être vaut-il mieux poursuivre vos recherches ailleurs…Soyez vigilantes et surtout exigeantes.  Recherchez des certifications en morphologie, en esthétique et une maîtrise des couleurs. La technicienne devrait être à la fine pointe des dernières techniques et technologies. Plusieurs techniciennes en maquillage permanent ou semi-permanent sont également artiste maquilleur et/ou artiste peintre. Demandez des références et/ou à voir le plus grand nombre de photos avant, tout de suite après, 6 semaines après, 6 mois après, 2 ans après… assurez-vous qu’elles aient été réalisées par la technicienne en question. Finalement, misez sur l’expérience de la technicienne, son habileté, la constance de ses résultats plutôt que de vous laisser tenter par ses prix. Après tout, il s’agit de votre visage! 

Sur ce, je vous laisse – je vais prendre mon rendez-vous  avec Madame Migneault!

Pour vivre en détail le rendez-vous ainsi que la séance de maquillage permanent, lisez notre magazine en ligne!

N.B. Mireille Mignault est une esthéticienne de renom, portraitiste et artiste peintre de surcroît. Elle est propriétaire de l’Institut Coup D’Éclat situé à Québec. Sa passion : votre beauté.

 

Posez une question à nos experts


sept × = 49

© 2013 BeautéHD. Tous droits réservés.